Ask Away!

collage4

I’m working on writing an FAQ pageΒ and need your help. What do you want to know about me? knitting questions, yarn questions, random off-topic questions, whatever you want to know. The only rule is no knitting questions about a specific pattern (such as “how do I make this thumb gusset?”) since those belong in the “comments” section of that specific pattern.
To ask me a question, simply write it in the comments section of this post or email it to me at katherineknits@yahoo.com

Happy Monday!

Katie

2 thoughts on “Ask Away!

  1. Katie says:

    I have a question regarding flip top mittens. When I pick up stitches for flip top, I get that but when I cast on new stitches, how are you casting those on?
    Thanks, I’ve made mittens before but never with flip top and I like that.

    • Katherine says:

      Hi, I’ll answer this for you here, but I would prefer pattern-specific questions go in the comment section for that particular pattern in the future πŸ™‚ To pick up the stitches, all you do is insert the needle into 1 side of a stitch (one half of the “V” and repeat on the next stitch. Keep going for however many stitches the pattern specifies. Once you picked up that number, tie on the yarn to the last stitch you picked up and knit across the row. It may feel a little wonky, but once you get past that first row, it will be smooth sailing. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

